The 17 SDGs

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a resolution made by the United Nations. Their goal is a global sustainable development on an economical as well as on a social and ecological level. The goals were adopted on january 1. 2016 with a duration of 15 years to come. The official title is „Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development“, regarding every nation as a developing nation in terms of sustainable development. The SDGs were passed by the UN General Assembly on the UN Sustainable Development Summit 2015 at the UN Headquarters in New York. They’re calling upon all nations to do their part in achieving the 17 SDGs. Furthermore, the SDGs encompass every part of society, with universities and science playing a key-role in teaching and furthering a sustainable development.

In 2015, Hochschule Emden/Leer decided to committ to the SDGs as part of its guiding principles.

You can see the precise actions taken by Hochschule Emden/Leer to achieve the SDGs in regard to research, Education, everyday campus-life and administration below:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-Being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships for the Goals